Frequently Asked Questions
Use extreme caution concerning information you receive from third parties when it pertains to “Firearm Laws” or the “Use of Force”. I encourage students to follow the hyperlink to the actual text contained in the Colorado Revised Statutes.Colorado Revised Statutes
- Q. Are there additional costs to obtain the concealed weapons permit outside of the training fee?
- A. Colorado statute 18-12-205(2)(b) limits the processing fee to a maximum of $100 for the county sheriff. The Colorado Bureau of Investigation also has a fee of $52.50 (CBI Fees). So total cost could be as much as $152.50. Not all counties charge the maximum fee…..but due to volume in the metro area expect the full fee.
- Q. What are the requirements for the permit?
- A. Colorado statute 18-12-203(1) - Everyone who meets the minimum requirements for the permit will be approved. You must be a resident of Colorado, 21 years of age or older, must be eligible to possess a firearm pursuant to section 18-12-108 or federal law, never convicted of perjury, doesn't use illegal drugs, within last 10 years you can't have two alcohol related convictions, no active restraining orders, completion of a handgun training course. Also the sheriff could deny the permit if you have documented previous behavior that makes it likely you will present a danger to yourself or others ie..assults, domestic violence etc…
- Q. When taking the handgun training, do I have to qualify with the weapon I intend to carry?
- A. No. In fact I recommend that you use the smallest caliber you feel the most comfortable with. The course is intended to ensure safety and accuracy. The back of my permit from Arapahoe County states specifically "Any Handgun Is Authorized". Colorado statute 18-12-101(1)(e.5) gives the definition of a handgun.
- Q. How long does it take to obtain the permit?
- A. Colorado statute 18-12-206(1) sets a maximum timeline of 90 days, but the counties have got it so automated now. Mine was ready in as little as 8 weeks.
- Q. What happens if I don't pass the range portion of the qualification test?
- A. Listen, beginners are great simply because they have fewer bad habits to break. This course is perfect for beginners, novices, or experts. I will pay for all the range time you need. I've had several students that I wanted to spend more time with until they built up a confidence level to be able to focus on accuracy. I don't stand behind anyone screaming. I'll work with you to ensure you leave the range with the skill set needed to safely and accurately handle a weapon each and every time.
- Q. Does my hunters education card meet the training requirements for the concealed weapons permit?
- A. No. Colorado statute 18-12-202(5) specifically states that it must be a handgun training course. 18-12-203(1)(h) requires the student to demonstrate competence with a handgun.
- Q. Can I use my permit in other states? What other states does Colorado have reciprocity with?
- A. Yes your Colorado permit is valid in 30 other states. See the Colorado Bureau of Investigation's website for a complete and current listing of all states we have reciprocity with (Reciprocity).